Standards Board

The Soil Association's elected Council appoints Standards Board members, with the aim of ensuring a representative spread of appropriate expertise on the Board. It meets three times per year. The Standards Board is responsible to the Soil Association elected Council for upholding organic principles in the Soil Association standards. It does this by overseeing their development and maintenance. It works in conjunction with the standards committees who provide the expert, technical input. The Standards Team provides the administration and management for the process. The Standards Board also guides the strategic direction of the Standards Team and agrees the annual work programme. You can read the Soil Association Standards Board and standards committees Terms of Reference here.

Standards Board members as at July 2014:

  • Sam Clarke: independent Chair of the Standards Board
  • Mike Brook: Chair, Health Products Standards Committee
  • Hayden Evans: Farmer and Grower Board Chair and licensee
  • Benjamin Dent: Processing Standards Committee Chair
  • Simon Wright: Ethical Trade Standards Committee Chair
  • John Newman: Agriculture Standards Committee Chair
  • Vacant: Horticulture Standards Committee Chair
  • Rebecca Speight: Catering Mark Standards Committee Chair
  • Jimmie Hepburn: Aquaculture Standards Committee Chair
  • Rhiannon Rowley: Textile Standards Committee Chair
  • Tabitha Gillan: lay member
  • Isobel Collyer: lay member
  • Anna-Louise Batchelor: lay member
  • Andrea Charlson: lay member in waiting
  • Annabel Allott: Soil Association Council representative
  • Rob Haward: grower representative and licensee

The Standards Board last met on 5th March 2014. The next meeting will be on 24th June 2014. If you would like any more information about the work of the Standards Board, please contact Isabel Griffiths, Standards Manager